Lauren Kelly Nutritionist

Better Health, Better Food, Better You

Healthy Mexican Casserole

on January 20, 2012

This is one of my favorites and I have been making this for YEARS!  It is super easy and healthy, and most importantly DELICIOUS!

Ingredients:

1 lb. lean ground turkey

1/4 tsp cumin

1/4 tsp chili powder (1/8 tsp if you don’t like it too spicy)

1/4 red pepper flakes

1/8 tsp coriander

1 can black beans – rinsed thoroughly and drained

1 can pinto beans- rinsed thoroughly and drained

4-5 plum tomatos, chopped and seeds removed

1 TSP chopped chili peppers (add more or like to your taste)

1/2 up frozen corn

1/4 cup reduced fat mexican blend cheese

 

I brown lean turkey meat, add cumin, chili powder, red pepper flakes, coriander and a little water until seasoned. Next I add pinto & black beans, diced tomatoes, thinly sliced chilis,corn and mix it all together. I put it in a 9 x 13 casserole dish and add 1/4 cup of reduced fat mexican cheese blend on top. Bake at 350 for 20 minutes until cheese is melted. For my kids, I crumble whole grain tortillas on top 🙂 This is great the next for leftovers in a wrap too. ENJOY!

9 responses to “Healthy Mexican Casserole

  1. erin priesing says:

    does it change nutritional stuff if you use ground chicken?
    ps- you rock!!!!

    • Thanks Erin 🙂 Ground turkey and ground chicken are pretty comparable in calories, fat and protein. If you are looking to save calories (which you clearly do NOT need to do) then look for the leanest one which is the breast. It should say 97 or 99% lean. Hope that helps Erin. I know you are going to LOVE this!!

  2. Lesley says:

    I made something like this last night! I will share soon 🙂

  3. amee4013 says:

    How’d you know my family loves Mexican??!! Delish recipe! Thanks so much for sharing!!

  4. I love black beans! Thanks so much for sharing at Church Supper. Have a blessed week and please come back again next Sunday!

  5. Diane says:

    Where is the nutrition info on this recipe please?

  6. christy says:

    Making this tonight and can hardly wait! It looks delicious!

  7. Vicki says:

    i am going to try this..thanks!!!! I enjoy your page ..I am in fitness http://www.fitwvic.com and find your info. so helpful! Thank you!

Leave a Reply

