Lauren Kelly Nutritionist

Better Health, Better Food, Better You

I am so excited to have our first guest recipe blogger!

on January 27, 2012

Every Friday I will have a guest blogger sharing one of their favorite recipes with us.  Today, Heather from Eat Well. Be Well. Live Well is sharing her recipe for Spinach and Sun Dried Tomato Tilapia.  Not only is this low in fat, high in fiber and high in protein, but it’s also loaded with Vitamin A and Vitamin C! THANK YOU HEATHER 🙂

Hi! I’m Heather Miskerik, the face behind “Eat Well. Live Well. Be Well”.  I’m not a certified nutritionist, nor do I carry high level (or any) credentials to provide true credibility to the information that I share with my followers. I am simply someone who has taken great strides to become healthier and better educated in terms of better nutrition, going “green”, and overall well-being.  I love to share what I learn along the way to hopefully better educate and motivate others.  I give credit and kudos to my nutritionist, the book “Skinny Bitch” and the “Food, Inc.” documentary for helping me open my eyes up WIDE and pushed me to change my lifestyle.
This recipe I’m sharing with you is a delicious dish one of my very dear friends made for me one night. It was love at first bite and I find myself craving it often!!  This recipe can be modified to your liking. I don’t actually follow a recipe I just feel my way through it.
Spinach and Sun Dried Tomato Tilapia
1 lb Tilapia
1-2 T Minced Garlic
1 ½ c chopped Sun Dried Tomato
1 bag of Fresh Organic Spinach
Lemon Pepper for seasoning
 I TBS Olive Oil
Water
1)     In a small pan, sauté garlic with olive oil and set aside.
2)     Season Tilapia on both sides with Lemon Pepper seasoning and set aside
3)     In a large skillet add sun dried tomatoes and enough water to cover the bottom of the pan and cover with lid. Cook until sun dried tomatoes soften. Add Tilapia and sautéed garlic that you sat aside. You may need to continue to add water so there is at least a half inch in the pan as it will evaporate during cooking. Once you flip the tilapia add the bag of spinach to the pan and cover. Again you may need to add a little bit of water again. Cook until Spinach steams and is cooked through. You may need a slotted spoon to removed Tilapia and Spinach mix – depending on how much water remains in the pain. Don’t worry if the Tilapia breaks apart! Chop it up into small pieces and mix the entire dish together!  ENJOY!
Nutrition Facts
Serving Size 209 g
Amount Per Serving
Calories

168
Calories from Fat

19
% Daily Value*
Total Fat

2.1g
3%
Saturated Fat

0.6g
3%
Trans Fat

0.0g
Cholesterol

55mg
18%
Sodium

539mg
22%
Total Carbohydrates

14.7g
5%
Dietary Fiber

4.2g
17%
Sugars

7.9g
Protein

26.1g
Vitamin A 137% Vitamin C 48%
Calcium 12% Iron 28%
Nutritional information from http://www.caloriecount.com and may not be 100% accurate.
Please stop by Facebook an “like” Heather at http://www.facebook.com/pages/Eat-Well-Live-Well-Be-Well/205460952822194?sk=wall
One response to “I am so excited to have our first guest recipe blogger!

  1. Mo says:

    Congrats on your blog, Lauren!
    I’m excited to read more…
    mmmmorselicious!

Leave a Reply

