Lauren Kelly Nutritionist

Better Health, Better Food, Better You

Add some healthy color to your diet with this Vegan Carrot Ginger Apple Soup :)

on January 31, 2012

On days when I feel like I need to “clean up” my diet, I like to eat only whole, fresh foods.  Here is a creative way to add fruit and veggies together and at 123 calories per serving, you can even have a second helping guilt-free!  I made this in my Vitamix, but I have used a hand immersion blender before.  The blend of these flavors is so amazing and fresh.

Carrot Ginger Apple Soup

adapted from Vitamix recipe book

Ingredients:

1 lb. fresh organic carrots, chopped into 2 inch rounds

1 TBS coconut oil

1 inch fresh grated ginger

1 organic apple, cored and sliced (peel on)

2 cups of organic vegetable broth

Directions:

1.  Place carrots, sliced ginger and coconut oil and sautee’ until soft.

2.  Add 2 cups of vegetable broth into sauce pan and let simmer until carrots are tender.

3.  Place cooked carrots and broth into Vitamix with sliced apples, secure lid. Select Variable 1 , then quickly turn to 10. Blend for 30-45 seconds slowly adding remaining 2 cups of vegetable broth to desired creaminess.  For those using a blender or hand immersion blender, follow steps 1 and 2, then add in the blender and blend, or place in a large bowl and use the hand immersion blender.

And look how pretty this is….

Nutrition Facts
Serving Size 1 bowl (4 servings in total) 3 Weight Watchers Plus Points

Amount Per Serving:

Calories 123 Calories from Fat 41

Total Fat 4.5g

Saturated Fat 3.2g

Trans Fat 0.0g

Cholesterol 0mg

Sodium 461mg

Total Carbohydrates 18.5g

Dietary Fiber 4.4g

Sugars 10.5g

Protein 3.7g

* Nutritional information calculated from http://www.caloriecount.com, not guaranteed 100% accurate

5 responses to “Add some healthy color to your diet with this Vegan Carrot Ginger Apple Soup :)

  1. Lesley says:

    That looks beautiful!

  2. angie says:

    Good morning! I made this a few minutes ago 🙂 It is good, I just have a question that I probably should have asked before I made it? What size was the apple you used? the apples I had were pretty tiny, so I used two. Needless to say, the apple taste sticks out wayyyy more than the carrots 🙂 Any insight would be great! Thank you!

    • I used one medium sized apple. Maybe try it next time with just one? When I experiment with my recipes, if add more apple I just kind of wing and it add a little more of everything else 🙂 Thanks so much!

  3. diane dyer says:

    What can I use in place of coconut oil?

Leave a Reply

