Lauren Kelly Nutritionist

Better Health, Better Food, Better You

It’s my pleasure to introduce you to Heather Tallman (aka Basilmomma) who is our guest blogger this week!

on February 10, 2012

Before we dive in to this AMAZING recipe, let’s learn a little about Heather Tallman from http://www.basilmomma.com….

Cooking for myself and my family is more than just a necessity.  I truly enjoy it.  Now, that doesn’t mean that I wake up every morning, tie on an apron and start taking orders.  No way!  But I do enjoy the happiness that a tall stack of pancakes or a dish of steaming hot enchiladas brings my 3 Boys!  Nigella Lawson once said when asked what she thought of a particular dish on Iron Chef, that if the food brings her pleasure to eat  then it is good.
My food isn’t fancy but it is real.  My recipes aren’t from Le Cordon Bleu but they were tested in my kitchen and they work for me.  MyPanel of Judges seem to agree as well:)
Pasta for my Son
9 cloves garlic-minced
1/2 C olive oil
6 TB butter
1 15 oz. can crushed tomatoes I use Tuttorosso Crushed Tomatoes by Red Gold
Coarse salt and freshly cracked pepper to taste
1 lb. spaghetti ( I used the Barilla brand that has ridges..to hold the sauce)
1 bunch chopped fresh Basil
Grated Parmesan cheese for garnish

In a small saucepan, cook the garlic in the olive oil onLOW for 30 minutes.  Stir from time to time.

In a medium sauce pan add the butter and crushed tomatoes and stir until well blended and the butter is melted.

Stir in the garlic/oil and season with salt and pepper to taste.  Allow the flavors to meld for 10 minutes.

Toss with the cooked, warm pasta in a serving bowl.  Sprinkle the basil and Parmesan on top as desired.

Enjoy!!

Please go and visit Heather at her blog  http://www.basilmomma.com  and her Facebook page at http://www.facebook.com/basilmomma
One response to “It’s my pleasure to introduce you to Heather Tallman (aka Basilmomma) who is our guest blogger this week!

  1. Thank you for asking me to do a guest post!!

Leave a Reply

