Lauren Kelly Nutritionist

Better Health, Better Food, Better You

Happy St. Patrick’s Day! My friend Mel wants to share her fabulous irish recipe with you :)

on March 16, 2012

Happy St. Patrick’s Day foodies! I am super excited to be guest hosting over here for Lauren! Let me introduce myself. I am Melissa, the creative mind behind Cooking with Mel. I am a packaged deal – I come with a Soldier and a Yorkshire Terrier. We are like three peas in a pod. I started really experimenting in the kitchen just over a year ago when my little family picked up and moved across the country. I decided to document my endeavors in a blog and voila! Cooking with Mel was born. At first I was cooking whatever came to my mind or whatever we were hungry for; most recipes were new to me, so it did not really matter to me what I was experimenting with.

However, that changed. For almost a year I have been reinventing my website and our lives with a healthier lifestyle. I have struggled with weight my entire life. And about 8 years ago I decided to take control back. I joined weight watchers, started eating differently and working out. On the program I have lost about 165 pounds and have been maintaining it for almost 7 years now.

In order to keep my little family on a healthy track, I decided to recreate recipes that would ordinarily be death on a plate. When Lauren asked if I would make a little cameo on her blog for St. Patrick’s Day I was slightly concerned about making traditionally Irish food appealing and healthy. But, I knew that I could do it. So for you I have a Reuben Quesadilla!

Nutritional Information:
Servings: 2
Serving Size: 2 quesadilla triangles
Calories: 276.8
Fat: 13.5 g
Carbohydrates: 24 g
Fiber: 4 g
Protein: 15.3 g
Points+: 7

Ingredients:
Recipe Adapted from Closet Cooking
1.5 ounces Swiss cheese, shredded
2.5 ounces Corned Beef
¼ cup Sauerkraut, drained & sautéed
2 {soft taco} Tortillas
½ tablespoons Fat Free Thousand Island Dressing

Directions:
Coat a medium skillet with cooking spray over medium heat
Place one tortilla in the pan and allow to heat until it is slightly browned on the bottom. Remove to a plate
Take the second tortilla and place in the pan.
Sprinkle some cheese on the tortilla, followed by the corned beef, sautéed sauerkraut and Thousand Island dressing. Top with remaining cheese.
Add the previously warmed tortilla to the top
Cook until the bottom tortilla is golden brown and cheese is melted
Remove to a plate and enjoy!

This is such a great appetizer or snack to share with your friends or family. I love the flavors that are packed into a traditional Reuben sandwich, so I knew making this Quesadilla was the right way to go.

I wanted to say a quick thank you to Lauren for inviting me over! I hope everybody has a fabulous Saturday & St. Patrick’s Day!
~Mel

Please stop by Mel’s Facebook page and “like” her.  Also, Mel’s blog is amazing, go visit her!

Thank you for sharing this yummy recipe with all of my fans!  Everyone is Irish on St. Patty’s Day!

One response to “Happy St. Patrick’s Day! My friend Mel wants to share her fabulous irish recipe with you :)

  1. Michele says:

    Thanks to Lauren and Mel! What a great idea for a healthy St. Pat’s Day 🙂

Leave a Reply

