Lauren Kelly Nutritionist

Better Health, Better Food, Better You

You don’t need salt to add flavor to your foods, try some seasonings!

on March 24, 2012

I don’t know about you all, but I LOVE seasonings!  I love to add herbs and spices to just about all of my dishes.  They are packed with flavor, but did you also know they they are good for you too?  Enhance the flavor of your foods with these wholesome seasonings:

Cinnamon:  Sprinkle 1/2 tsp on oatmeal, cereal, sweet potatoes, fruit and yogurt and get as many antioxidants as 1/4 cup blueberries!  It has shown to help lower LDL (bad) cholesterol and may help regulate blood sugar (helpful for management of Type 2 Diabetes).

Oregano:  I love to put oregano on grilled cheese, pizza, pasta, hamburgers or on top of salads.  1/2 tsp of this seasoning has as many antioxidants as 3 cups of spinach.

Garlic:  This powerhouse of antioxidants has shown to have many disease fighting properties. Furthermore, garlic is so versatile!  Mix with roasted vegetables, potatoes, meats, chicken, pasta, hummus…the list can go on and on!  I also enjoy roasting garlic cloves:  Preheat the oven to 400°F.  Peel away the outer layers of the garlic bulb skin, leaving the skins of the individual cloves intact. Cut off 1/4 to a 1/2 inch of the top of cloves, exposing the individual cloves of garlic.  Place the garlic heads in a muffin pan. Drizzle 2 teaspoons of olive oil over each head.  Cover with aluminum foil. Bake at 400°F for 30-35 minutes, or until the cloves feel soft when pressed.  YUM!

Turmeric: This is widely known for its anti-inflammatory properties.  Its bright yellow color helps to add flavor as well as color to many different dishes.  Turmeric can be found in curries, egg salads, and rice dishes.

Cayenne Pepper:  Known to help reduce cholesterol and triglyceride levels, cayenne pepper is used in many spicy dishes.  I love cayenne pepper in chili, marinades, chicken dishes and anything that I want to give an extra kick to! Some studies even show that cayenne pepper can help speed up metabolism.  Just another great reason to add some to your favorite recipes!

3 responses to “You don’t need salt to add flavor to your foods, try some seasonings!

  1. Stephanie says:

    Great post, Lauren! I agree, there are so many other great spices and herbs to use besides salt! In fact, there is nothing worse than an over salted dish. I love experimenting with different herbs and seasoning. And I loovveee me some garlic! 🙂

  2. I love that you posted this! I am always talking about the health benefits of spices! That was its original purpose! How wonderful something so healthy is so delisciousM I originally discovered this by looking up all the various ingredients I use in a product I make, Jabberwocky Smooth Jerk sauce. I really wanted to make sure I was offering a healthy and delicious sauce! The more I read the more interested I’ve become in this topic.one of the books I bought is 50 healing spices. Nice book for people to check on things they may need to know. The one list not available in complete form is how much of each of these spices would be of maximum benefit each week. Then a menu for the week that incorporated this information would be genius!
    Thank you I’ll be sharing your information on both my personal page, and Jabberwocky Smooth Jerk page!

  3. healthyyou72 says:

    A few weeks ago my sweet hubby made me a soup, and later we named this not so healthy soup “sodium soup.” Since I can not have large amounts of sodium, my body was not happy that night. Thank you for sharing this lovely post, I have been thinking about ways to flavor my soups now, instead of using bouillon cubes, or any other high sodium ingredient. We love love onion and garlic, and of course herbs:-) Take care, Terra

Leave a Reply

