Lauren Kelly Nutritionist

Better Health, Better Food, Better You

I will admit it, I am a convert….I LOVE scones!!! Delightful Whole Wheat Lemon Berry Scones

on March 29, 2012

I have always said that I didn’t like scones.  I didn’t like how dry and crumbly they were.  They just didn’t appeal to me.  At all.  And then I saw a Lemon Cranberry Scone on the menu at a restaurant in California.  I love lemon and I love cranberry so I gave it a try.  IT WAS AMAZING!!!!

So now that I am back home, I decided to try and recreate these yummy scones.  I wanted to make it healthy by cutting the butter and using whole wheat flours, I just didn’t now how it would come out since I have never attempted to make scones before.  Then I saw this recipe from Chocolate & Carrots and knew I had to try to make them.  If you are intimidated AT ALL by making scones, try this recipe.  I promise it’s easy!!!  The whole wheat flours add fiber, the milk and greek yogurt add protein.  How could I go wrong?

 

Delightful Whole Wheat Lemon Berry Scones

Adapted From Chocolate & Carrots
   

Ingredients:

  • 1 1/2 cups whole wheat pastry flour
  • 1/2 cup whole wheat flour
  • 1 tablespoon baking powder
  • 3 tablespoons turbinado sugar, plus more for sprinkling on top ( I used Trader Joe’s Turbinado)
  • 1/8 teaspoon salt
  • 3 tablespoons cold unsalted butter
  • zest of one lemon
  • 1/4 tsp natural lemon extract
  • 3/4 cup of dried (or fresh berries of choice)  I used dried golden raisins, dried cherries, dried cranberries & dried blueberries
  • 1/2 cup plain non fat Greek yogurt
  • 1/2 cup low fat milk (I used 2%)

Instructions:

  1. Preheat oven to 425°.
  2. Combine flours, baking powder, sugar and salt in a bowl and whisk together.
  3. Slice butter and drop into dry ingredients. Mix sliced butter into the flour.
  4. Add dried berries,lemon extract and lemon zest and gently stir.
  5. Gently mix in milk and yogurt. Eventually you’ll need to use your hands to knead the last of the flour into the dough.  Since we used less butter in this recipe, you really have to work with your hands to make sure all the ingredients are mixed.
  6. Form dough into a circle about that’s about an inch deep all around. Cut the circle into 8 slices.
  7. Separate slices and place on a baking sheet covered in parchment paper or foil.
  8. Sprinkle the tops of the scones with a bit of raw sugar.
  9. Bake for 15 minutes or until light brown.

Nutrition Facts
Serving Size 1 scone
Amount Per Serving:
Calories 188   Calories from Fat 44  *** 5 Weight watchers Plus Points Each

Total Fat 4.9g

Saturated Fat 2.9g

Cholesterol 12mg

Sodium 75mg

Total Carbohydrates 28.6g

Dietary Fiber 3.2g

Sugars 9.8g

Protein 4.9 g

*Nutrition Information supplied by http://www.caloriecount.com, not 100% guaranteed accurate

3 responses to “I will admit it, I am a convert….I LOVE scones!!! Delightful Whole Wheat Lemon Berry Scones

  1. Deborah says:

    I have loved scones since I first tried one nearly 20 years ago in the town of Windsor in the UK 🙂
    I will give these a try this weekend! Cannot wait!

  2. Darla says:

    Shared these on my Stay Healthy Fitness FB Wall today…I absolutely LOVE scones…and a healthy version…A MUST BAKE! Thanks for the post and Stay Healthy!

  3. Christy says:

    These look and sound really delicious!! I’m bookmarking this to try!!

Leave a Reply

