Lauren Kelly Nutritionist

Better Health, Better Food, Better You

Spring Vegetable Risotto ~Guest Post~

on May 11, 2012

Talk about talented…Jenni aka Mama J of A Little Bit Crunchy A Little Bit Rock and Roll is so creative.  I am so thrilled to have her as our guest poster today.  And man this recipe looks AMAZING!!!

****************************************************************************************************************************************************

My name is Jenni, some of you know me as Mama J and I live in the suburbs of Chicago. I’m the creator, chef, and photographer behind A Little Bit Crunchy A Little Bit Rock and Roll.  My priorities in life are being the wife to a talented artist/graphic designer husband and a mom to three fantastic kids.  As well as being an artist, I am also the teacher to my three kids who are all homeschooled.

A few years ago a friend thought I should start a blog featuring the funny things my kids said and did. Between that, inquiries for recipes I had made, and needing a place to highlight my photography…. A Little Bit Crunchy A Little Bit Rock and Roll was born.

My love for Julia Child and other PBS cooking shows began as a young child.  In high school I would not only pour over Rolling Stone Magazine, but any cooking magazine I could get my hands on as well. In college I majored in studio art, working primarily in printmaking and drawing. After a day in the studio I would come home to my college apartment and bake homemade bread.

A few years ago my family began a reduced meat diet and are now full-fledged vegetarians. My recipes are mainly focused on natural, from scratch, healthy vegetarian meals. However,  I like to indulge now in then some decadent desserts!

Spring Vegetable Risotto

Ingredients:

2 tablespoons minced fresh parsley leaves (reserve the stems in a stock pot)

2 tablespoons minced mint leaves (reserve the stems in a stock pot)

1/2 teaspoon grated lemon zest

1 pound asparagus, cut into 1/2 inch pieces (break off the tough ends and place them in a stock pot)

2 medium leeks, white and light green parts halved, sliced, and washed (place the dark green tops in the stock pot with the asparagus ends)

4 cups vegetable broth (place in stock pot with leek tops and asparagus bottoms )

3 cups water (place in stock pot with leek tops and asparagus bottoms)

5 tablespoons unsalted butter

1/2 cup frozen peas

2 cloves garlic, minced

1 1/2 cups Arborio rice

1 cup dry white wine

1 1/2  ounces (3/4 cups) grated Parmesan cheese

2 teaspoons lemon juice

Directions:

1. Place the parsley, mint, and lemon zest in a small bowl and set aside.

2. Bring the broth, water, and reserved vegetable stems and pieces to a boil, partially cover and simmer for 20 minutes. Strain the broth, pressing the solids to extract the liquid.  Place the broth back in the stock pot and place on low heat to keep the broth warm.

3. Heat 1 tablespoon of butter in a large pot and saute the asparagus spears with a pinch of salt and pepper for about 4 minutes.  Add the peas and cook for 1 more minute.  Transfer the vegetables to a plate and set aside.

4. Melt 3 tablespoons of butter in the same pot and add the leeks, a little salt and some pepper.  Cook for about 4 to 5 minutes.  Add the risotto and cook for another 3 minutes.

5. Add the wine and stir until absorbed.  Continue adding the warm broth a few ladles at a time.  Stir constantly until all the liquid is absorbed before adding more.  Continue adding more broth until the rice is al dente.

6. Off heat add the last tablespoon of butter, the cheese, and the lemon juice.  Gently fold in the asparagus and peas.  Top with the chopped parsley, mint, and lemon zest mixture.

Please go visit Mama J at her blog and go over and “like” her Facebook page.  You won’t be disappointed, I promise 🙂

Thanks again Mama J!!

One response to “Spring Vegetable Risotto ~Guest Post~

  1. bakeaholicmama says:

    Great guest post Lauren! I ❤ Jenni's blog.

Leave a Reply

