Lauren Kelly Nutritionist

Better Health, Better Food, Better You

Delicious Garlic Butternut Squash

on May 14, 2012

Welcome to another Meatless Monday!

I ate this for dinner with a side of bean salad and I was one happy lady.  I loved how this dish came out.  The garlic paired with the sweetness of the squash was a perfect combination.

Butternut squash is packed with Vitamin A (the beta-carotene gives the orange color) which is crucial for  healthy immune system and vision health.  It is also loaded with powerful antioxidants B vitamins and minerals as well.  This squash is also high in fiber and low in calorie.  That should be reason enough to try it 🙂


Delicious Garlic Butternut Squash

  • 2 tablespoons minced fresh parsley
  • 1 tablespoon grapeseed oil
  • 2 garlic cloves, minced
  • 1/2 teaspoon kosher salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon pepper
  • 3 1/2 pounds butternut squash, peeled and cut into 1-inch cubes
  • 1/4 cup grated Parmesan cheese

Directions

  1. In a large bowl, combine the parsley, oil, garlic, salt and pepper. Add squash and toss to coat.
  2. Transfer to an ungreased shallow 2-qt. baking dish. Bake, uncovered, at 400 degrees F for 50-55 minutes or until squash is just tender.  Makes 6 servings.

from allrecipes

Nutrition Facts
Serving Size 1 bowl (1/6 of recipe)
Amount Per Serving
Calories 160    Calories from Fat 34
Total Fat 3.7g
Saturated Fat 1.0g
Cholesterol 4mg
Sodium 269mg
Total Carbohydrates 31.6g
Dietary Fiber 5.4g
Sugars 5.9g
Protein 4.4g

6 responses to “Delicious Garlic Butternut Squash

  1. Yum! I love butternut squash! Its one of my favorites and your dish looks amazing!!

  2. Aunt Betsy says:

    Hi Laurie,
    I might try this one myself. Will let you know if Uncle Bill likes it. I’m trying to get him off the range so to speak.
    Aunt Betsy

  3. I am crazy about butternut squash-it is such a healthy vegetable and my kids gobble it up. I am looking forward to trying your recipe!

  4. Rebecca Walker says:

    This looks delicious. And everybody in my family loves butternut squash. Do you have any healthy suggestions for add-ins that would help the men in my house see this as a “meal?” I’m making progress with them, but this alone would still probably strike them as a “side dish.” 🙂

Leave a Reply

