Lauren Kelly Nutritionist

Better Health, Better Food, Better You

Apple Cinnamon Coconut Flour Muffins from Wellness Mama

on June 8, 2012

Katie, the “Wellness Mama” is a mom of four with a background in Nutrition. Katie is a  real food crusader, lover of books, kettlebell junkie, scuba diver, and coffee addict who can finally do a pull up.  She blogs at WellnessMama.com about health, fitness, natural living, healthy recipes, and motherhood. You can find her on facebooktwitterPinterest and Google+.

“My family eats grain free, and I also work with many clients who are grain free by necessity or choice, so I experiment with a lot of alternative flours. At first, it was a big adjustment to start cooking with other flours, especially coconut flour, which has a completely different texture and taste than regular flour. When I stopped trying to sub coconut flour into regular recipes and just started creating recipes especially for coconut flour, I stumbled upon a few that are surprisingly close in texture and taste, and are very good in their own rite.

These Apple Cinnamon Coconut Flour Muffins are a favorite at our house and I’ve found several easy variations that my kids love. They can even be made to look/taste almost like a cupcake, so I use them for birthday’s and to bring for my kids when there will be sugar laden treats and I want them to have a healthy option.” ~Katie, aka Wellness Mama.

Apple Cinnamon Coconut Flour Muffin Ingredients:

  • 5 eggs
  • 1 cup applesauce
  • 1/2 cup coconut flour
  • 2-3 TBSP cinnamon
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1 tsp vanilla (optional)
  • 1/4 cup coconut oil
  • 2 T honey (optional)

How to Make Apple Cinnamon Coconut Muffins:

  1. Preheat the oven to 400 degrees F.
  2. Grease a muffin pan with coconut oil.
  3. Put all ingredients into a medium sized bowl and mix with immersion blender or whisk until well mixed.
  4. Let sit 5 minutes.
  5. Use 1/3 cup measure to spoon into muffin tins.
  6. Bake 12-15 minutes until starting to brown and not soft when lightly touched on the top.
  7. Let cool 2 minutes, drizzle with honey (if desired) and serve.

Flavor Options!

This recipe is actually very versatile! To mix it up, try these flavor combinations:

  • Reduce the applesauce by 1/4 cup and add an overripe banana before blending. Mix in 1/2 cup toasted chopped nuts (like walnuts) by hand.
  • Add 1/2 cup blueberries or raspberries
  • Add 1/2 cup chopped apples for a little crunch
  • Add 3 T of cocoa powder to make almost cupcake like
  • Add 1/4 cup chia seeds right before adding to muffin tins for an almost poppy-seed like taste

Thank you SO much Katie! I can’t wait to make these for my family 🙂

5 responses to “Apple Cinnamon Coconut Flour Muffins from Wellness Mama

  1. This is kind of hilarious. I tried to make gluten-free coconut flour muffins earlier today and failed miserably. It was like there was no binder! I used many of the ingredients above with the exception of applesauce. I also used mashed bananas. They crumbled to the touch and the coconut flour had a dense, grainy texture. Total failure! These look way better.

  2. Susann says:

    Thank you so much these are great, made them with chia seeds and coconut raspel. Love it!!

  3. Rebecca says:

    These have gone over like gangbusters in my house! I did use the banana option, and admittedly, threw in some Ghirardelli semisweet chocolate chips, but when I make these, my kids opt out of any pre-packaged breakfast bars or cereal, so I consider it a win. I like them, too. 🙂

    The texture is very light and delicate. Also, the batter is nice to work with – slides right off all the utensils and bowls I use, so cleanup is a breeze.

    Thanks for this recipe!

  4. kmpelters says:

    These were amazing! My daughter is highly allergic to most foods and we’ve been trialing coconut.. I made 2 batches one without the cinnamon and one with in case we had issues with the cinnamon.. they are really good! She even commented that they were softer than the ones I had made previously, I told her it was because of the apple sauce.. (Which I also made by boiling apples and blending them up)

Leave a Reply

