Lauren Kelly Nutritionist

Better Health, Better Food, Better You

Healthy Shrimp Scampi

on June 19, 2012

Yes, you read the title of this recipe correctly….Shrimp Scampi CAN be healthy!!  AND still yummy!  My family LOVED this!  It is actually funny how much my kids LOVE LOVE LOVE shrimp (it’s the first thing they order when we go eat at a restaurant) when I don’t eat ANY seafood.  At all. Ever. Never.

Anyway, it took me several attempts to lighten up shrimp scampi and this one was a winner!  My husband was disappointed there wasn’t any left over.  I guess I should double the recipe next time 🙂

Ingredients

  • 3 tablespoons extra-virgin olive oil
  • 1 pound cleaned, large deveined shrimp, patted dry
  • 4 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1 cup reduced sodium chicken broth
  • 1 tablespoon unsalted butter
  • 3/4 pound multi-grain angel hair pasta
  • 1/2 cup chopped parsley
  • 1/2 teaspoon grated lemon zest
  • 1/2 fresh squeezed lemon juice (optional)
  • 2 cups steamed baby spinach (optional)

Directions

  • Bring an 8- to 10-quart pot of salted water to boil.
  • Heat oil in a 12-inch heavy skillet over medium high heat until it shimmers, then saute shrimp,turning once, until just cooked through, about 2 minutes. Transfer shrimp with a slotted spoon to a large bowl. Add garlic,  chicken stock and 3/4 teaspoon each salt and pepper to skillet and bring to a boil, let it reduce to 1/2 cup. Add butter and stir until melted, then remove skillet from heat and stir in shrimp.
  • Meanwhile, cook pasta in boiling water until al dente, about 6 minutes. Toss pasta in bowl with shrimp mixture, parsley and lemon zest.  Squeeze lemon juice on top if desired.  Place on top of steamed spinach if you’d like 🙂

Nutrition Facts
Serving Size 1/6 recipe
Amount Per Serving
Calories 316   Calories from Fat 94
Total Fat 10.4g
Saturated Fat 2.3g
Trans Fat 0.0g
Cholesterol 153mg
Sodium 225mg
Total Carbohydrates 39.2g
Dietary Fiber 4.2g
Sugars 1.3g
Protein 19.4g

*Nutritional Information is provided by http://www.caloriecount.com, not 100% guaranteed accurate

9 responses to “Healthy Shrimp Scampi

  1. I love that you lightened up shrimp scampi. It’s what the hubs orders every time we go to Red Lobster. I can’t stand it there as it’s way to garlicy and I LOVE garlic. I’ll have to try this recipe for sure. We are adding seafood in to our diet so I’m always looking for healthy recipes.

  2. This is fantastic Lauren! The perfect “Recipe Resuscitation,” as I like to call it!

  3. Michele says:

    YAY! Scampi with no guilt! 🙂

  4. Awesome awesome awesome!!! It’s all I can say 🙂 thanks so much for sharing this on Manic Monday

  5. Thanks to Donna of The Slow Roasted Italian for referring me because I have was planning on some shrimp scampi this week. My only suggestion is to add the pasta in with the shrimp mixture so the flavors blend a little better.

Leave a Reply

