Lauren Kelly Nutritionist

Better Health, Better Food, Better You

Chocolate Quinoa Muffins

on June 21, 2012

I love quinoa.  I think many of you know this already 🙂

I have lots of recipes for quinoa salads, quinoa patties, quinoa for breakfast…you name it.  Oh, except quinoa in baked goods!  So I stumbled upon this Martha Stewart recipe for Quinoa Muffins that looked super yummy.  But I was in the mood for something chocolatey.  I did a search for chocolate quinoa muffins and found one that looked delicious from Get Real 4 Health and changed it according to what I had in my house.  These came out TO DIE FOR!  I love that the quinoa adds protein and some fiber, and the cocoa adds some sweetness.

Soooo….what the heck is sucanat?  Sucanat is the least refined form of cane sugar.  Sucanat still retains vitamins and minerals that processed white sugar is stripped of.  I bought mine at Whole Foods.  Try it 🙂

Ok, back to these yummy muffins… Each muffins only has 115 calories, 2 grams of fiber and 4 grams of protein.  I’ll take it!

Dry ingredients:

1 ¾ cup buckwheat flour

¼ c unsweetened cocoa powder

½ c sucanat  (can substitute regular or turbinado sugar)

1 ½ t baking powder

1 t sea salt

1 t cinnamon

Wet ingredients:

¼ c grapeseed oil

1 large egg

1 c reduced fat buttermilk

1 t vanilla

2 c cooked quinoa, cooled

¼ c chopped almonds or whatever nuts you like

1. Combine all the dry ingredients in a bowl (the first 7 above) and mix with a wire whisk.

2. In a separate larger bowl, combine the wet ingredients (including the nuts) and mix well.

3. Gently fold in the dry ingredients and mix just until they are incorporated.

4. Fill lightly buttered muffin tins ¾ full with batter. Bake at 350°F for 25 min, or until cooked through. Let cool slightly before removing from the pan.

adapted from Get Real 4 Health

Nutrition Facts
Serving Size 1 muffin
Amount Per Serving
Calories 115  Calories from Fat 39  (3 WW points per muffin)
Total Fat 4.3g
Saturated Fat 0.6g
Trans Fat 0.0g
Cholesterol 8mg
Sodium 94mg
Total Carbohydrates 16.2g
Dietary Fiber 2.3g
Sugars 0.8g
Protein 4.0g

12 responses to “Chocolate Quinoa Muffins

  1. These sound awesome, Lauren…and I love how you list all the nutritional info! xo

  2. I feel healthier just looking at these!

  3. Sarajane Boyle says:

    Thanks Lauren! Love your website and you! Hope your back is feeling better!
    SJ 🙂

  4. onenightowl says:

    Lauren, I use Stevia to sweeten my food. Do you know the ratio for this recipe? It sounds awesome. I also enjoyed reading your Shrimp Scampi recipe and I do plan of fixing it because we love shrimp and spinach.

    Today has been a very good day for finding and meeting new contacts on Facebook. Not only do I need the tips but I pass them on to my page “Health is Happiness”. It is becoming more of a resource page because I am linking up with so many awesome people like yourself and am finding a wealth of information. If you have not checked it out please do so at http://www.facebook.com/iherbcom

    Thanks,
    Cindy

  5. This is a delicious way to enjoy my quinoa!! Thank you for bringing these yummy muffins to Fit and Fabulous Fridays!!

  6. Tammy says:

    Wow and gluten free too! Can’t wait to try this recipe!

  7. Wow Lauren, these sound amazing!!! Can’t wait to try, I have them bookmarked! TY for including the calories!

Leave a Reply

