Lauren Kelly Nutritionist

Better Health, Better Food, Better You

Simple Grilled Veggie Kabobs in Balsamic Flax Glaze

on July 30, 2012

Hello friends 🙂

I have been super busy this Summer.  I think anyone with kids is busier in the Summer 🙂

I apologize I haven’t been blogging as much lately but I hope to be back in the game soon with some exciting news!

Ok, it’s Meatless Monday.  I don’t eat red meat or any seafood so most days are meatless for me.   I am trying to find some new ideas besides salads and I think I may have found it.  Veggie Kabobs!  Perfect.  Easy.  Healthy.  And meatless.  You can just use whatever vegetables you have on hand.  I have even seen them pre-made in Whole Foods before for convenience!

Ingredients

Sliced veggies of your choice cut into squares (I used red, yellow, orange and green pepper, red onions, portobello mushrooms, yellow and green squash and tomatoes)

10 or 12 inch long wooden skewers

1 tablespoon dijon mustard

5 tablespoons balsamic vinegar

1 Tablespoon oil of your choice (I used olive oil)

1 Tablespoon flax seed, ground

Salt and freshly ground black pepper to taste

1 large garlic clove, finely chopped

1/2- 1 teaspoon corn starch for thickness

  1. Place all the vegetables on the skewers in whatever order you’d like.  Place on a plate.
  2. In a small bowl , put dijon, balsamic, oil, flax, salt, pepper, garlic and corn starch.  Whisk until well blended.
  3. With a pastry brush, brush vegetables with balsamic glaze until thoroughly covered.  Place aluminum foil on top of the vegetables and place in refrigerator to marinate for a couple of hours or longer if you’d like.
  4. After a few hours, fire up the grill and grill both sides evenly for a few minutes.
2 responses to “Simple Grilled Veggie Kabobs in Balsamic Flax Glaze

  1. Sounds wonderful! I love Veggie Kabobs! Yum!

  2. Such a crowd pleaser!

Leave a Reply

