Lauren Kelly Nutritionist

Better Health, Better Food, Better You

Deviled Egg Spread~ Guest Post by Ann from The Fountain Avenue Kitchen

on August 24, 2012

I am THRILLED to have Ann from The Fountain Avenue Kitchen here as our guest blogger today!!  I am a HUGE fan and absolutely love Ann’s recipes and her blog.  She is a true inspiration!

Take it away Ann….. 🙂

I am the wife of a great guy I have known since I was four and the mom of two fabulous boys…as well as a dog and four chickens.  As a young girl,  I developed a love of cooking working alongside my grandmother in the original Fountain Avenue kitchen.  I currently write for a local magazine and newspaper, and when I’m not cooking, running carpools, or folding laundry, I enjoys squeezing in a run, a swim, a yoga class, or a good book!

Deviled Egg Spread

 

Deviled eggs are favorite picnic and cookout fare in my family.  My sister-in-law, Mary, and my mom make the best ones!  This deviled egg spread is a fun twist on the traditional stuffed egg and, as such, serves as a perfect light lunch or dinner.  I like it for breakfast, too!

My favorite way to eat it is spread on whole grain bread, which has been toasted until it is crunchy, with a side of vine-ripened tomatoes. As an option, serve alongside your favorite seasonal greens or in a hollowed-out tomato.  Serve as bruschetta with some diced tomato on top for an excellent hors d’oeuvres option.

Deviled Egg Spread:

6 hard-boiled eggs

2 tablespoons plain Greek yogurt (I typically use 2% Chobani)

2 tablespoons mayonnaise

1 teaspoon Dijon mustard

dash of Worcestershire sauce

kosher or sea salt and freshly ground pepper to taste

optional toppings or mix-ins:  chopped greens olives, avocado, fresh basil or dill

Toasted whole-grain bread (or bead of choice) or tomatoes for serving

 

Instructions:

Slice the eggs in half, remove the yolks, and place the yolks in a mixing bowl.  (Keep the whites on the cutting board.)

Mash the yolks, then add the yogurt, mayonnaise, Dijon, Worcestershire, and salt and pepper.

Chop the egg whites, add to the bowl along with the optionals add-ins, and stir to combine.

Spread the mixture over toast or stuff into a hollowed-out tomato, on cucumber rounds, or whatever else sounds good to you.  Top with optional garnishes, as desired.

Note:

This recipe can easily be doubled and will last several days stored, covered, in the refrigerator

Thank you so much Ann for sharing this delicious recipe with us!

Please stop by Ann’s Facebook Page and “like” her!

Please go visit Ann’s blog, The Fountain Avenue Kitchen, you will not be disappointed!

 

7 responses to “Deviled Egg Spread~ Guest Post by Ann from The Fountain Avenue Kitchen

  1. This is a delicious recipe!! Thank you for sharing ladies! 🙂

  2. Ann says:

    It is an honor to be your guest! Thank you for having me and for being such an inspiration yourself!

  3. I love Ann and her blog too 😀 LOVE this recipe and have yet to try it though. How do you think it would hold up for camping? If I premade the egg mix and stored in ziplock baggie? YAY or NAY?

  4. I think you should be fine! HAVE FUN!!

Leave a Reply

